Maeve Binchy. R.I.P.

Maeve Binchy died a few hours ago, aged 72 after a short illness. In her life she brought happiness people around her and to the 40 million people who bought and read her books, and me.

Some 20 years ago, I was at a point where I read quite a bit and my wife did, not at all. I felt that there is no person who doesn’t like reading, just that there are people who hadn’t found what they liked to read. While working away from home, I saw daily a person at reception who was never away from a book. Before I returned home, I asked her what should I suggest to a lady to read – what would be best? Without pause she mentioned “The Glass Lake” by Maeve Binchy. I found it on the way home.

My wife agreed to read it and never looked back. To be sitting beside someone, both reading, and to see her burst out laughing while reading – I owe Maeve Binchy a lot and spent some time buying others of her books.

Some books were made into films, some should have and some could have never been captured by the medium. If you wish to start reading her work, I suggest “The Glass Lake” or “Light a Penny Candle”.

No Photos, no dramatic fonts or borders, just black type. It is a sad day.

Maeve Binchy, sadly missed.

4 Comments

Filed under Books and their home.

4 responses to “Maeve Binchy. R.I.P.

  1. Hard to hit “like” here over her passing, But you know what I mean. So sad. She was a prolific writer of many great books.

  2. I enjoyed her books, she was a great observer of people.

Leave a Reply

