More thoughts on ereaders

Possibly have a look at a previous post of mine on “Are bookshelves redundant?”. Anyway.

I had a look along my shelves today. Just the shuffle space for the books I have not yet read. I keep them in a seperate location on the shelves because it is easier and faster to both admit to them there and move on, or to pick out a fresh book to read. I know by looking at them what to expect – the size and shape, the book art, roughly the number of pages, the titles and the authors. This was done very quickly by the way, as I am working, but I was satisfied with my glance. Thinking back it covered some 50 books in a few seconds and gave me everything I needed to know. Some of the books were selected purchases where I had an idea – some were wild flight of abandon (internally – I looked quite calm handing over the money), where I had no idea of what is inside the book – a whim now and again. How fast can I do that on an Ereader?

I dropped a book – never a good thing but it came up unscathed – no bumps. How often can I drop an Ereader?

I had a phonecall from London today. From “Global System Care”. It was “Ken” with a south Asian accent. He wanted to access my computer to see if he could “fix” it. He became quite confrontational – did I think it was a scam? Would he sent me an email? What would that prove? He just needed my help to look inside for the infection. Was there a charge? Only if it was a big virus. No? No. Very well then – I will have to watch my machine die. Imagine spending all that money to give me the best laugh of the day. Poor Ken. I’d like to see him try and data grab or infect my “The New Carpenter and Joiner, Vol III with Index” 1955 printed by Caxton, or any other book for that matter.

I get more exercise lifting, holding and page turning. There may also be excessive looking for that blasted bookmark.

A judge can throw the book at someone and it would mean something.

I have a signed first edition. (from a church sale – nevertheless). I journeyed a thousand miles to ask a stranger to sign a book (no chore, it was to Italy).

I foolishly lend the odd book.

A book is powered by my imagination and light alone. No shortage of either.

When I cook, flour, water splash, oily finger prints or even blood may hit a page. If it doesn’t come off it only adds a memory.

This is not anti Ereaders (which may be of use in specific circumstances), its pro Books.

Putting carpentry back now and going to look for the Great Gatsby, again. I may meet a friendly old forgotten book along the way.

 

7 Comments

Filed under Books and their home.

7 responses to “More thoughts on ereaders

  1. caitin flower

    Hi there, you have me thinking. I love my books. Old friends I smile at as I pass by. but ereaders have their appeal. holidays with an ereader pcked with books and no impact on my baggage charge… Oh how I’d love that! I think book shelves need a special construction in the middle to show case the lovely ereader as well as the books. Its their precious contents that matter.

    • Yup, they do have their uses. Aside from the revenue stream that publishers see in ereaders (no costs) I think there should be a better reason to replace books. There is an asthetic value in their look and handling. We also have accessing books in the best way for the reader sorted. This is down the list of things to do for epublishers, as yet. When I look at a shelf, I can find a helpful book I didn’t know I needed (or even had, given my memory).

  2. While I love my Kindle, it will never replace the feel of a book in my hand.

  3. I swore I would never have a kindle…but now I do and I love it. it allows me to take advantage of the wonderful blogging authors freebies which I read in return for a review but also it is great for trying out new authors which should i enjoy their books and a papercopy be available I will then still buy. The one problem with my beloved paper copies is the space they take up my book shelves are bowed under the weight of books double stacked and squeezed into every inch. until I can afford a bigger house or work out a way to fit in another book shelf or two I end up haing to pack some of my books away periodically (my other half suggests car boot sales and I scowl at him)

    • Thank you for the comment, the follow and the likes – made my morning. I agree on the space issue. This is only the second or third generation that as a whole are sorting out an abundance of books, as prior to that, education and income were more restricted. Nevertheless, if a person owns a house or apartment, there are ways to use the structure in a way that works for books. I would be in about your position if I hadn’t converted the attic. I am at the point of needing new shelves now. Once the shelves are sorted (including space for more), we are on to the issue of where and how to place each book on the shelf. Most readers collections are of unfinished sceries of books. This means that once a new book in the sceries is obtained, we may have to move all the books down one to make space. I use ornaments mercilessly as buffers between sceries of authors – far easier to swap them out for the next book. As for removing books from a collection – that hurts me. I know it has to be done, but…. Anyway, I could go on all day – thanks to your comment. Bowed shelves? Would love to help you. Had a few posts that may help. Additional storage for books, a book bank, a pawn booker, I feel another post coming on. Back later.

  4. Yes, I have a kindle, but there is still nothing like a good old fashion book and I have shelves and shelves of them. I like to arrange them by size, paper backs on one shelf, hard backs on another. You can’t do that with your e-books!

    • “shelves and shelves” – wonderful words. I was online at the start of the internet, saw it grow. There was a burst of information sharing, everything available for all time – recipes, advice on cars, where to buy an aeroplane, everything shared. Now its google rankings, sales and a sign I saw yesterday – “Get your photos printed before you lose them for ever”. The cloud is the latest in the progress of online use and activity. How long will data be stored “in the cloud” for free? Bought Terry Pratchetts “The Long Earth” yesterday. Its killing me not to read it all today. Difficult to slow down and savour the story. In fourty years time though, it will be good to say to a guest “I have something you may like to read”.

Leave a Reply

